Contemplating Cloth: SunMoonStars

The fact is, I am not all that pleased with my SunMoonStars cloth.  It doesn’t look like I wanted it to be, like I had imagined it to be.  Perhaps I was imagining cloth similar to Spirit Cloth’s many lovely versions by Jude Hill.  Or perhaps like the ones I have seen within her Circle of friends.

I may need to begin again.  Start over.  With new/old cloth.

SunMoonStars in progress…but I may start over.
SunMoonStars in progress…but I may start over.  

But in the meantime, I hauled in two big scores this week:  black walnut hulls and florist’s eucalyptus.  Thank you, my son, Matt–for the walnuts. Thank you, Whole Foods, for finally stocking fresh eucalyptus.

Black walnuts, ready to be smashed and cooked
Black walnuts, ready to be smashed and cooked

I will be dyeing, boiling and eco-printing tomorrow.  And thinking about a new constellation for SunMoonStars.

Scored large at Whole Foods:  Fresh Eucalyptus for Dyeing
Scored large at Whole Foods: Fresh Eucalyptus for Dyeing
Author: luvswool and dyestuff

Natural dyer. Chemist. Chicagoan. Felter. Weaver. Embroiderer.

2 thoughts on “Contemplating Cloth: SunMoonStars”

  1. Sorry to hear your Sun, Moons and Stars is not going well. I know the feeling. I was trying to stitch some details on my granddaughters wall hanging. It all came out.

    Have fun tomorrow with the dyeing and Eco printing!

    Like

  2. Well, I’m really okay about it, about not going with it. I don’t feel like i need to complete this piece, as you probably must with your granddaughter’s gift. So I will be sure to post about my black walnut dyeing and eco-printing results. Stay tuned! And thanks for visiting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

