Repurposing at Christmastime: New Bags From Old Scraps

My sibs and I used to exchange Christmas gifts back in the day.  But we are all grown up and have children of our own.  Some of us even have grandchildren (not me, yet!)  And there are six of us.  So every year I like to make something small to give to my 4 sisters and one brother, although brother’s wife usually gets the girly gifts.

This year I decided to make travel pouches from scraps of fabric and bits and bobs.  Here’s what I made–There’s a little bit of personalization in the small details.img_3182  A button here, a cotton drawstring there.  img_3184A scrap of Laura Ashley fabric, an old tie-dyed curtain.  And a piece of my brother’s old denim jeans (for my SIL).  Can you spot the Laura Ashley?  Tana Lawn from Liberty of London?  My hand-dyed vintage lace?  Merry Christmas to all of you, and peace in the New Year.

img_3186

img_3181

Author: luvswool and dyestuff

Natural dyer. Chemist. Chicagoan. Felter. Weaver. Embroiderer.

4 thoughts on “Repurposing at Christmastime: New Bags From Old Scraps”

  1. Ah, that hand-dyed vintage lace takes the prize. And in a lovely bit of synchronicity, I’m hoping to post about some repurposed denim pockets in the next day or so.

    Wishing you peace this Christmas and in the new year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

