Thoughtful Recycling

One of my big wishes is that people did not throw away so much stuff:  like clothing, paper, food–just to start.  We do have legitimate garbage, but do you ever ask yourself if the stuff you are about to throw away could be used again?  Re-use, recycling, repurposing.  Donations.

img_3418
Brown paper bag rolled to protect homespun yarn.
img_3416
Cutting selvedges from decorator fabric.
img_3417
Cotton selvedges rolled and ready for rug weaving.

I made some curtains this week and had to trim the selvedges.  What do you usually do with selvedges?  Throw them away.  Me, too.  But not anymore.  I carefully trimmed the selvedges then rolled them to be used in my weaving.  Then there are those folks who really know how re-cycle and have been doing it forever.  I recently purchased some hand-spun yarn online and discovered that the spinner had used recycled paper to band her yarn.

I admire people who have made businesses out of recycling, such as Rose and Penelope, who both have Etsy shops selling reclaimed yarn.  This is a labor-intensive business, and because I love the idea and the yarn they offer, I am a repeat customer.  Top in photo is linen and below, cashmere. What are you recycling?img_3423

Author: luvswool and dyestuff

Natural dyer. Chemist. Chicagoan. Felter. Weaver. Embroiderer.

3 thoughts on “Thoughtful Recycling”

  1. Recycling rocks! I rarely throw anything away except rotten food. If I had a big enough garden I’d compost like my son does. I’ve used my scrap fabrics, selvedges, yarns, paper and felt in my artwork. I’m a big donator.

    Like

Leave a Reply

