Creating a New Tunic with Organic Jersey Eco-Printed Scraps

Last summer, I was busy eco-printing leaves and other plant materials for my ever growing collection of repurposed linens and naturally dyed fabric.  As always, I ended up with more fabric than I could possibly use in a season, so I began to think of other ways to combine these treasures.

I wanted a new tunic to take on my recent vacation, so I gathered leftover 100 percent cotton jersey scraps of fabric, along with eco-printed scraps of the same fabric.  Since I did not have enough of the same fabric color to create a tunic, I used natural oatmeal for the main tunic and sunflower seed for the sleeves.  The neck facing was fashioned out of eco-printed scraps of the same fabric, as was the hem of the tunic to make it a bit longer than I normally wear.  Do you ever just make-do with what you already have in your fabric stash?  Stay tuned for the finished tunic, which is now in the laundry pile!

IMG_3703

Author: luvswool and dyestuff

Natural dyer. Chemist. Chicagoan. Felter. Weaver. Embroiderer.

2 thoughts on “Creating a New Tunic with Organic Jersey Eco-Printed Scraps”

  1. It looks like you had some nice prints to work with. I look forward to seeing the finished tunic. I’ll bet it was very comfortable on vacation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

