Playing With Cloth & Chaining

Years ago, one of my sisters gave me a bag of scraps, some of them Laura Ashley samples.  Every once in awhile, I bring them out of their hiding place and play with them.  They are mostly small squares, perfect for making 9-patch quilt blocks.

With no particular plan in mind, I improvised and decided to sew a few squares together.  Then I remembered reading about “chaining,”  a method used by quilters to stitch small pieces together without stopping and starting your sewing machine.  Once your initial pieces are stitched, you simply carry on by inserting the next squares under the needle.

chaining two squares together, and so on and SEW ON
SNIP the connecting chaining threads

What a time saver!

 

 

 

 

Author: luvswool and dyestuff

Natural dyer. Chemist. Chicagoan. Felter. Weaver. Embroiderer.

2 thoughts on “Playing With Cloth & Chaining”

  1. Hand sew the 2-block portions together to create a 9-patch block and take it from there. Why hand sew? I change my mind frequently as I create the most pleasing patterns. And yes, it requires the addition of one stray block, but I like strays.
    ;-))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

